Round 9 Elland Results


Weds, 7 August 2013, Brooksbank School, Victoria Road, Elland, HX5 0QG

Event organiser: Mr Fred Rothwell, 5 Church Close, St Peters Avenue, Sowerby, SOWERBY BRIDGE HX6 1HA 01422 832195

Report by Clare Crabtree | Images By Clare – Under-14 Race | Over-14 Race


Ian Taylor takes the win in the last race of the series!

Ian Taylor wrapped up the YCCA/Pedalsport Summer Series with another outstanding win, coming in a similar fashion to the last round: he attacked with a few laps to go and once free, increased his lead steadily to win with nearly a minute gap over his nearest rival Nick Barnes.

At the start, it was Barnes who lead the field out but quickly Taylor had joined him with Dirt Wheels rider Jake Poole close behind. However, Taylor and Barnes soon distanced Poole and had a 30 second lead by halfway through the race. It was with 3 laps to go that Taylor made his move a first took a few seconds over Barnes but he increased his lead every lap to win by 47 seconds.

The top ten riders were constantly changing position throughout the race with the relentless hills of the Brooksbanl venue taking their toll on the riders. Andy Peace came through from ninth on the first lap to sitting in third at halfway but Jiri Klekner was showing his strength and had taken third with a few laps to go.

Rob Watson had also been up in third position but fell back down the field then came back through to take fourth at the finish. Ben Hallworth was always in the top ten and came through in fifth to get the better of Peace and James Dalton. Nikola Butler was the top lady.

In the Under 14 race Jenson Young took the win – he had taken the lead and had a gap over the chasers by the second lap and went on to win by quite a margin. Matt Taylor came through to take second place getting away from Thomas Nelson halfway through the race. Young took the series too, his final round win clinching a very close battle he has been having with Nelson. Lucy Horrocks was again the first female rider home.


Please note these are (very) provisional – please let us know at any amendments etc. We’ll be adding the names to the riders where we only have number very shortly. Full series standing will follow in a few days once the amendments etc have been made. Lap-by lap timings are available as an XLS download:  Brooksbank Lap Times


1 Jenson Young Pedalsport U12
2 Matt Taylor Pedalsport U14
3 Thomas Nelson Pedalsport U14
4 Jacob Feetham Wakefield Junior Tri U14
5 Euan Cameron East Bradford CC U14
6 Nathan Allatt Holme Valley Wheelers U14
7 Max Rushby Pedalsport U12
8 Jim Brown KCA U12
9 Lucy Horrocks Hope U14
10 Mason Hollyman KCA U14
11 Simeon Young Pedalsport U14
12 Sophie Thackray Paul Milnes Bradford Olympic RT U14
13 Henry Hollyman KCA U12
14 Eddie Townend U14
15 Ben Dowson Hetton Hawks U12
16 Aaron Brayshaw East Bradford CC U14
17 Marcus Hiley Pedalsport U10
18 Jonny Gill Ilkley U12
19 Tom Whitworth Huddersfield RC U12
20 Lewis Earnshaw U14
21 Lucy Whearty Pedalsport U12
22 Joe Thorp Manchester BMX Club U10
23 Tom Sheard KCA U10
24 Alex Bailey Huddersfield Star Wheelers U10
25 Adam Jackson Huddersfield Star Wheelers U12
26 Adam Bailey Huddersfield Star Wheelers U12
27 Tom Scott Sheffield Stars U10
28 Wiliiam Thackray Paul Milnes Bradford Olympic RT U12
29 Oliver Akers Huddersfield Star Wheelers U8
30 William Holne U12
31 Matthew Wariner Pedalsport U8
32 Ruby Boyes Huddersfield Star Wheelers U12
33 Ben Jackson Huddersfield Star Wheelers U12
34 Connor Scrimshaw Holme Valley Wheelers U12
35 Joseph Ibbotson Huddersfield Star Wheelers U8
36 Toby Edwards Huddersfield Star Wheelers U14
37 Ben Lawson U10
38 Archie Sykes U8
39 Dylan Boyes Huddersfield Star Wheelers U10
40 Josh Charlesworth U14
41 Amos Dukes Huddersfield Star Wheelers U8
42 Harry Metcalfe U8
43 Harry fox East Bradford CC U8
44 Amy Scott Sheffield Stars U8
45 Will Lampkin U8
46 Astrid Hiley Pedalsport U8
47 Olivia Fox East Bradford CC U8
48 Jack Edwards Huddersfield Star Wheelers U8
49 Alice Kaye Huddersfield Star Wheelers U8
50 Harry Scott Sheffield Stars U8
51 Lucy Kaye Huddersfield Star Wheelers U8

1 Ian Taylor Jedi Cyclesport V40
2 Nick Barnes Zepnat S
3 Jiri Klekner S
4 Rob Watson Paul Milnes Sen
5 Ben Hallworth Ilkley CC Sen
6 Andrew Peace Jedi Cyclesport V40
7 James Dalton Pedalsport Sen
8 Jake Poole Dirtwheels Cycles Sen
9 Seth Smith V40
10 Matt. Denby Jewson V40
11 Rick Crabtree Pedalsport S
12 Chris Taylor Pedalsport V40
13 Simon Maudsley Dirtwheels Cycles Sen
14 Mike Young Pedalsport V40
15 Richard Binks Clay Cross RT V45
16 Duncan Warner Airedale Olympic S
17 Stephan Macina J.D. Cycles V40
18 Graeme Bird V40
19 Matthew Worton Blackhawk Bikes U16
20 Tim Kershaw Pedalsport S
21 Robert Scott EBCC U16
22 David Kinloch Ilkley CC V40
23 Mark Horrocks Team Hope V40
24 Lee Brown Holme Valley Wheelers S
25 Matthew Downes Paul Miles Cycles Sen
26 Marcus Spencer Hargreaves Cycles V40
27 Rob Thackray Paul Milnes Bradford Olympic S
28 Gavin Chatterton Ilkley CC S
29 Tim Small Airevalley RT J
30 David Jennaway V40
31 Stephen Bottomley Crosstrax V40
32 Matthew Bates S
33 Andy Whitworth Huddersfield RC V40
34 John Wood Finsbury Park V40
35 Chris Barnes Zepnat U16
36 Chris Ward Hudds.Star Wheelers S
37 Pete Wilkin Fietsen Tempo V50
38 Stef Chandler Horwich V40
39 Ivan Boyes Hudds.Star Wheelers S
40 Josh Bennett Seacroft Wheelers YOUTH
41 Simon Pateman Saddleworth Clarion V40
42 Graham Piccavey Hudds.Star Wheelers V40
43 Michael Burdon Ilkley CC V40
44 Richard Gate Albarosa CC V40
45 Dave Thorp Manchester BMX Club V40
46 Justin Taylor Pedalsport S
47 Ally Wight Hardrock hoodlums S
48 James Atkinson All Terrain Cycles S
49 Rob Savin Sen
50 Sam Streeton York Cycleworks Sen
51 Scott Weston Crosstrax S
52 Steve Rimmer Holme Valley Wheelers V50
53 Timothy Bull Ilkley CC V40
54 Andrew Tones V40
55 Nigel Smith Sen
56 Mark Rushby Pedalsport S
57 Paul Nutton Here Come The Belgians V40
58 Brian Perks Pedalsport V60
59 Nikola Butler Pedalsport LS
60 David Shaw Huddersfield Star Wheelers S
61 Jon Hobson Hope Factory Racing S
62 Matthew Cox Ilkely AC S
63 Gilesn Perkins North Cheshire Clarion V40
64 Paul Sleaford Norton Wheelers V50
65 Jay Hudson V40
66 Mick Speirs Horwich V50
67 Peter Bradford Paul milnes/Brad.Oly V40
68 Phil Wood Triangle V40
69 Ben Appleby Alford Wheelers S
70 Peter Dukes Hudds.Star Wheelers V40
71 Renee Saxton LS
72 Giles Bailey Huddersfield Star Wheelers V45
73 Nick Waggett Here Come The Belgians V40
74 Jonathan Breen Ilkley CC V40
75 Liam Gilpin Wakefield Jun.Tri.Club U16
76 Dick Ballentine Craven Energy V40
77 Ian Welloch Condor RC V50
78 John Graveling V50
79 Adam Cooper HCTB S
80 Owen Henriksen Norton Wheelers V50
81 John Redmond Paul Milnes/Brad.Oly. V50
82 Dominic Watts Sheffield Sports CC V40
83 Liz. Taylor Pedalsport LV40
84 Daniel Gilpin Wakefield Jun.Tri.Club U16
85 Martin Bradford V40
86 Kevin Dowson Hetton Hawkes V50
87 Sarah Rowell LV50
88 Mark Royle North Cheshire Clarion V40
89 Sam Galloway V40
90 Luke Benn Paul Milnes/KCA U16
91 H. Nicholson V60
92 Mark Warriner Pedalsport S
93 Joe Williams Holme Valley Wheelers U16
94 Juliet Horrocks Hope Factory Racing LV40
95 B. Peace BRCC Lynn Motors V60
96 Dave Topping V40
97 Andrew Hatfield Ilkey CC V40
98 Dave Clark Paul Milnes Bradford Olympic V40
99 Peter Dixon V40
100 Fiona Raby Skipton CC W
101 Stevev Cavell Condor RC V50
102 Nicky Hartle Dirtwheels Cycles LV40
103 Paul Gray Doncaster V40
104 Richard Edwards MSW V40
105 Gary Severn S
106 Fred Rothwell Paul Milnes Bradford Olympic V60
107 Joe Parker EBCC YOUTH

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s